What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

grow up

Kaitlyn has flown down to San Diego to spend some time with us – she is off on Reading Week. It is quite ironic that when I ask her how school is going – and she shares some of her assignments and highlights of her courses – I understand none of it! I remember the good old days when I was able to help her with her math or science homework. Thinking back, I recall when she was in kindergarten – her plan was to be a paleontologist. I think all kids have a passion for dinosaurs. That choice went by the wayside when she decided to be a veterinarian. This option was music to John’s ears, as we had livestock at the time – and he was anticipating some free service calls during calving season. Once Katy was in high school, it became apparent that she would choose a profession in the field of science or health care. Here we are, three years later and she is working towards becoming a Nuclear Medicine Technologist. Katy really enjoys the program and is doing extremely well scholastically. She is looking forward to practicum next year in Winnipeg.

katy

Research has shown, that on average, a person will change jobs 7 times. Change is a fairly liberal term, and may mean that a person changes employers yet works in the same field, but it also encompasses those individuals who decide to take a completely different career path. Majority of the “job hoppers” are people between the ages of 18 and 40. They are individuals who value job satisfaction, and aren’t afraid to take risks. I respect the desire to seek new opportunities to challenge ones self. It is easy to become complacent because a role is comfortable, and over time lose the desire to grow and excel. Granted, for a percentage of the population, circumstances negate opportunity. I regret that there are children having to face such limitations despite their potential.

“What Do I Want To Be When I Grow Up?” It is an easy question to ask, but not so straight forward to answer for one’s self. It is a topic that should have each of us doing some honest self-reflection.
Challenge yourself – imagine that you are back in high school, you have no debt and no responsibilities. The economy is stable and job demand is high – what career would you choose? Leave a comment or send me an email to let me know.

career

3 comments on “What Do You Want To Be When You Grow Up?

  1. marni says:

    Loving that Kait’s nails match her scrubs!

  2. Pam says:

    So glad to hear Katy is doing very well. I like this article since I left a career after 18 years – I can’t imagine changing jobs 7 times. I ask myself everyday what I want to be when I grow up – I still don’t know!!!

  3. Tawnis says:

    When I was a teenager, my Dad always told me I should be a Librarian or Telephone Operator as those were the two things I did lots and well. Read and talk on the phone! It worked out for me, lol!

Leave a Reply

