Blueberry Hotcakes

I have always enjoyed baking – probably because I enjoy eating. Since our travels began, I haven’t been doing much baking. I have been book-marking recipes on Pinterest, that I plan to try “someday”. My Aunt Cathy suggested that recipes might be an interesting addition to my blog. John is a very particular diner, and has agreed to be the food critic for these recipes – giving each one a rating between 1 – 10 (crap – delicious).
We watched “Best Thing I Ever Ate – Breakfast” on the Food Network. Curtis Stone made Blueberry Hotcakes. We enjoy having pancakes for brunch, so I thought this recipe looked perfect. Remember that I am cooking in a trailer – space and ingredients are limited.

Blueberry Hotcakes
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 ½ tsp baking powder
¾ tsp salt
1 cup fresh ricotta cheese
¾ cup buttermilk
4 eggs, separated
1/4 cup white sugar
1 cup frozen or fresh blueberries
steveston 001

Whisk the ricotta and egg yolks together in a large bowl. Add the buttermilk.
Add the flour, baking powder and salt into the ricotta mixture. Whisk until combined.
Using an electric mixer, beat the egg whites and sugar in a large bowl, until peaks form.
Gently fold the egg whites into the ricotta mixture.
Fold the blueberries into the batter.
Cook on a greased griddle or in fry pan – about 3 minutes per side. Hotcakes will puff, and become golden brown.
Serve with extra berries, butter and syrup.
steveston 002

On the TV show, Curtis made a Blueberry Compote to serve over the hotcakes. I didn’t have a lemon or fresh mint, so I opted to skip the compote. We are butter and syrup people anyway.
Critic Rating: 9/10 John thought the hotcakes were excellent. They were crisp on the outside and fluffy in the center. The ricotta cheese and buttermilk make these hotcakes moist and rich.
If you are a pancake fan – try this recipe. It has a few more steps than a traditional pancake recipe, but well worth it. I will be making these hotcakes again.
I am including a gratuitous picture of Curtis Stone for any of you who need additional motivation to try this recipe.
curtis stone 2

YUMMY (both the hotcakes and the chef).

Leave a Reply

