Apple Dutch Baby

It’s not that pancakes are the only thing that I ever cook, but I do think that like chocolate – pancakes should be their own food group. This recipe appeared on Pinterest at a most opportune time. We are having some operational difficulties with our propane cook-top, so I have to cook using either the microwave or the convection oven. Also, I am trying to use up some of the perishable groceries before we move the trailer. I had everything for this recipe on hand (mostly).

Apple Dutch Baby
Posted by: Lulu the Baker

1/3 cup butter
3 cups of peeled, cored, chopped tart apples
4 tbsp white sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/3 cup brown sugar
¾ cup flour
½ tsp salt
1 cup milk
½ tsp vanilla
5 eggs
apple dutch baby 001
Preheat the oven to 400F. Put the butter in a deep cast-iron skillet (you can also use an 8×8 square pan), and place in the oven until the butter is melted. When the butter is melted, add the apples, 3 tbsp white sugar, cinnamon, and brown sugar. Stir and place back in the oven until the mixture is bubbling. Meanwhile, combine remaining 1 tbsp white sugar, flour, salt, milk, vanilla and eggs in a large bowl, and beat until smooth. When the apple mixture is bubbly, pour the batter over apples and return to the oven. Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, until the edges are browned and the center is puffed. A knife inserted into the middle should come out clean.
Serve with syrup.

apple dutch baby 002
apple dutch baby 004

I made a couple of modifications to the recipe : I don’t own a cast-iron skillet or square pan, so I used a stainless fry pan. It worked fine. Also, I substituted buttermilk into the recipe – because I had some that needed to be used up.
It came out great. The pancake was light and fluffy with lots of sugary apples, and was fairly easy to make. After eating a piece, I remember Kathy Routledge serving a similar dish to me a couple of years ago. I always regretted not asking her for the recipe.
apple dutch baby 003

Critic John rated this : 9.5 out of 10. He thought this pancake was better than the blueberry hotcakes!

Leave a Reply

