Soda Pop Wars

I used to be a Diet Coke addict. For more than 10 years, I consumed 6-10 cans every day, starting first thing in the morning when other people had their coffee. I didn’t give this any thought until a few years ago, when I was having trouble sleeping and I had tremors. The shaking got so bad, I started to suspect that I may have Parkinson’s disease. Luckily not, but it was enough motivation to cut out the Diet Coke. So, I am three years Diet Coke free.
But I have a new vice – I love Pepsi. By love, I mean I can slurp down a can in 5 seconds or less. There is just something about a delicious cold Pepsi. The memory of Diet Coke can’t compete. I don’t let myself over-consume – Pepsi is an occasional treat. Like when we eat at a restaurant. Which brings me to my current ordering dilemma:
Waitress: What can I bring you?
Me: I will have a Pepsi please.
Waitress: Is Coke okay?
Me: Um, no. I’ll just have water, thanks.

In a majority of restaurants, this is how the conversation goes. Then after my decline of Coke, I get the undisguised scowl of disbelief from the serving staff. The glare says “Really, you can’t just drink Coke?” It typically continues as the waitress loads up the drinks for our table at the bar – she keeps giving me the stink eye. I don’t like the taste of Coke, and I won’t waste my “soda allotment” on something that it not Pepsi. It is extremely helpful when restaurants actually list Pepsi or Coke on the menu under the beverage section. I am able to avoid the dreaded Pepsi or Coke dialog.

As a free advertisement for Pepsi – if your local Safeway or Wal-Mart carries Pepsi Throwback – buy some. This Pepsi is made with real sugar instead of corn syrup – just like the good old days.
retro pepsi

Leave a Reply

