THE STORYTELLER – book review

Jodi Picoult is an American author, who has over 14 million copies of her books in circulation worldwide. I have read all of her books – most are what I considered good reads, but a couple are just ok. In saying that, for some reason, I haven’t been in a real rush to read her latest release – The Storyteller. Often I feel like once an author has so many books published, it become difficult for the reader to see them as having an original story line or theme. Maybe it is because I tend to prefer non-fiction literature, but I have a tough time reading books of the Danielle Steel genre where a woman protagonist has a seemingly idyllic life until her happiness is shattered by some tragic event. The plot revolves around her fighting her way to overcome the ensuing heartbreak, culminating in her resuming a blissful existence once again. Picoult has avoided this death trap so far – her novel topics are varied, interesting and relevant. The Storyteller definitely rated closer to very good than ok on my interest scale.
the storyteller

The story centers around Sage Singer, a young reculsive baker, who meets Josef Weber at a grief support meeting. They become unlikely friends, until one day when Josef admits a horrible secret to Sage and makes an unfathomable request of her. Picoult does an excellent job in offering different character perspectives of life in the Auschwitz concentration camp. I firmly believe that the atrocities of the Holocaust should never be forgotten, in remembrance of all who suffered but also to help prevent future genocides from occurring.
The Storyteller asks an extremely important moral question: “Should you offer forgiveness to someone if you aren’t the party who was wronged?”

Definitely a recommended read if you are looking for a book with a human interest theme.
I have listed Jodi Picoult’s novels below – with asterisks beside my personal favorites.

Songs of the Humpback Whale
Harvesting the Heart
Picture Perfect
*Mercy
*The Pact
Keeping Faith
*Plain Truth
Salem Falls
Perfect Match
Second Glance
My Sister’s Keeper
Vanishing Acts
*The Tenth Circle
*Nineteen Minutes
Change of Heart
Handle with Care
House Rules
*Sing You Home
Lone Wolf
*The Storyteller

It should be noted that a few of Jodi Picoult’s novels have been producted into movies – mostly made-for-TV. My advice is ALWAYS read the book first. It will undoubtably be better as it presents the story as the author intended rather than what the producers think the audience wants to see. My Sister’s Keeper was made into a big-screen movie starring Cameron Diaz – the book ending is TOTALLY different from the movie ending.

One comment on “THE STORYTELLER – book review

  1. Michelle says:

    I just read this- my first Picoult novel- I liked it as well. I was struggling what book to read next so thank you for the astrerisks!! Continued safe travels and blogging 🙂

Leave a Reply

