Here Comes 2014

image

It’s hard to believe 2013 has come and gone. It seems like the older I get – the faster time passes me by.

As I sit and think about the past 365 days – I realize how extremely fortunate I am. No one I know is homeless or hungry. Aside from some unfortunate effects of aging, our family is all healthy. We are lucky – but many are not.

The struggles of others has me contemplating my New Year’s resolution for 2014. In the past, I have committed to getting in shape, swearing less, learning to swim – all very self-centered goals – none of which I accomplished or maintained on a permanent/ongoing basis. I start off with positive intentions, but quickly lose interest.

For 2014, my resolution is to make life better for other people – strangers, from whom I will gain no intrinsic benefit other than the satisfaction of knowing I made a difference. I completely support the concept of random acts of kindness(RAK)- gestures performed for the primary purpose of helping or cheering up someone you may not know. Things as simple as paying for coffee for the person behind you in the Tim Horton’s drive through line or taking flowers to an elderly person in the hospital. I commit to carrying out RAKs on a regular basis, but my bigger objective is to offer something more meaningful – and I am not sure what this entails – yet. I just know that I need for my contribution to be substantial and selfless. Stay tuned!

image

Leave a Reply

