What’s In Your Kindle?

At some point in everyone’s life – there is always a doubt about how you will fit into new circumstances. I had this for about 10 minutes when I started working in Kelowna. Then I saw the ladies that I would be working with, walk into the office carrying their e-readers for a bit of lunch-hour reading. Kindle, Kobo, Nook or Ipad Mini – it didn’t matter – these were my people!

I am currently in the midst of re-reading Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series – before the eighth book is released on June 10th. I first read these books spread over the past 20 years – and I really enjoyed each of them. But I am finding that sitting down to re-read the entire series in one fell-swoop isn’t as simple as a marathon viewing of Game of Thrones. It could be that my Kindle tracks remaining reading time – based on the amount of time it takes to read a page – and it started in at over 100 hours. I have 14 hours left in the last book – and some days it feels like my brain has run a marathon. John questions why I would bother reading any book more than once, but I truly believe that I gain new insight each time I read a book – something that I involuntarily missed or skipped over the first (second & third) time through.

So I started a list of the books I have read more than twice(a few of these are favorites from my childhood and then from Kaitlyn’s) – books that I would recommend everyone read at least once:

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
2. The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell
3. The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
4. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
5. The 100-Year-Old-Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared by Jonas Jonasson
6. Night by Elie Wiesel
7. Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
8. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
9. Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt
10. Because of Winn Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
11. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving
12. Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
13. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
14. The Giver by Lois Lowry
15. Freakonomics by Steven Levitt
16. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
17. The Duchess Bakes a Cake by Virginia Kahl
18. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
19. Life of Pi by Yann Martel
20. Outliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell
21. Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss
22. Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
23. David and Goliath: Underdogs, Misfits, and the Art of Battling Giants by Malcolm Gladwell
24. The Hobbit by J.R.Tolkien
25. Charlotte’s Web by E. B. White
26. Beloved by Toni Morrison
27. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened by Jenny Lawson
28. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
29. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
30. The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch
31. What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell
32. The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas by John Boyne
33. Misery by Stephen King

image

Let me know what books you would add to this list.

2 comments on “What’s In Your Kindle?

  1. Corri says:

    OMG I only new 2 books!

  2. marni says:

    The Day the Crayons Quit – my current fave!

Leave a Reply

